Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Please help  (Read 1308 times)

Offline Lucy2005

Please help
« on: May 09, 2004, 23:40 »
hi i have a problem with my wirless connection, its a belkin 54g.

im new to this so please ask any questions u need. but tell me how do get to the informatin, thanks.

what happens is it drops the connection every 10 mins or so, so i went into computer management - event viewer - system and got this:

The browser has forced an election on network \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{1D1B720A-4126-4034-823F-6E29AAFC6E4B} because a master browser was stopped.

Your computer has lost the lease to its IP address 192.168.2.3 on the Network Card with network address 0030BDF7CCF0.

Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address 0030BDF7CCF0.  The following error occurred:
The semaphore timeout period has expired. . Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server.

how do i fix this ???

thanx Lucy

oh and im on NTL cable 512k if that helps?

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
Re:Please help
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2004, 23:58 »
Hi Lucy and :welcome:

Have you got a network for a couple of pcs or are you just running wireless to your laptop or something  ???
If you have a hard wired pc then I take it that stays online its just the wirelss part to a second one that loses its connection.
Which OS are you using ?

Offline Lucy2005

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2004, 00:04 »
hi sandra thanks for the quick reply, there are two pc's with wireless cards. the cable modem is hooked up to the router and is on 24/7. both pc's have xp but this is only happening to my pc :'(

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2004, 00:26 »

The browser has forced an election on network \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{1D1B720A-4126-4034-823F-6E29AAFC6E4B} because a master browser was stopped.