Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: User Permissions in XP  (Read 1192 times)

Offline Simon

• Administrator
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
User Permissions in XP
« on: April 28, 2005, 21:12 »
I have been asked about user permissions in XP, which I have no real knowledge of, being a sole user myself.  The problem is that on my cousin's XP machine, only he, as Administrator, can access the Internet.  There are three other users, but they can only get Internet access by logging in as him (the Administrator).  How can he allow other users to access the Internet?  I have suggested looking into the user permissions, but he says there is nothing there to change.   :?
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline sam

• Administrator
User Permissions in XP
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2005, 22:31 »
umm i havent heard of windows doing this before... someone who has better knowledge of xp etc might have though. I do have one suggestion - firewall software. could be setup to block other users? gosh i looked at the user permissions for xp.. nothing in comparison to linux!
- sam | @starrydude --

Offline Michelle

• Forum Fanatic
    • Techieminx
User Permissions in XP
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2005, 22:32 »
I think you can do this with "files and settings transfer wizard"

It says something on this video about transfering rights to the other user accounts about half way through, interesting video actually, for us new XP users. :lol:

link didn't work try this

http://www.g4tv.com/screensavers/features/40140/Windows_XP_User_Accounts_and_Permissions.html
Out of all the things I've lost .......I miss my mind the most!!

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
User Permissions in XP
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2005, 23:10 »
I think thats probably for other network users on the same LAN Michelle, not user accounts on the same pc.
I havent had much to do with multiple users accounts either.