Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Setting up new BB installation  (Read 6432 times)

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #60 on: September 17, 2003, 09:47 »
Yes it is "I"  hee hee

Thanks everyone,

Well my GF will be using BB in her house and I want it in my house so I can annoy you lot again when I get it all sorted. She needs BB for college and is sick of AOL ... ahhh I can sympathise there  ;) ;) she can use BB at my house when she is staying with me too, so its high speed all the way  :P

Thanks Sandra, that sounds about right for my GF, and mmmm wireless for me .... but I'm not convinced about security of wireless yet, and all my PCs will be in the same room, so good old Cat5 seems fine. But you're right San ... I need speed  :P ;)

Any more suggestions will be gratefully received :thanks:
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Offline Serenity

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4386
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #61 on: September 17, 2003, 09:49 »
Hi Dave so nice to see you back on here  :-*

say Hi to the GF  :D

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #62 on: September 17, 2003, 09:53 »
Thanks Serenity  ;D :-* its nice to be back, albeit if only briefly for now ... doing to jobs at work and trying to get my house sorted is taking so much time ... I'm just hoping to get things back to "normal" soon and then harrass you lot with a vengence again  :P ;D ;)

Ohh and I'll pass on your regards to my GF, thank you  :-*

Ohh and hellooooooo to all you new members too, welcome and I'm pleased you joined us  ;D
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #63 on: September 17, 2003, 12:57 »
I had a look at the Netgear DG814 as being the most likely one I want, but was disappointed to find it only comes with a software Firewall ... for something at that price approx 130, I would have expected a hardware firewall. The Vigor2600 has built in Firewall and is only 140 from here

Any more suggestions? the Vigor is still winning
The one you suggest Sandra looks likely, but on reading the reviews, it appears to have a problem with Messenger ... has anyone had experience of this?
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #64 on: September 17, 2003, 14:02 »
Try this one Bat, the D-Link wireless one for 128-02 inc vat from :

http://www.lanshop.co.uk/dsl604p.htm

Has a lot of other LAN stuff too  :)

Adept

  • Guest
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #65 on: September 17, 2003, 15:38 »
Bat, if you are prepared to pay for the Vigor, you won't find a finer router.

As you know Clive has a 2600 which was a doddle to set up. We also use 4 Vigor 2600s at work and, touch wood, never get any problems at all.


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum