Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Cannot access websites  (Read 7172 times)

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63424
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2002, 16:18 »
It IS normal size to me Simon!   ;D  I haven't done anything Guv.   ;D
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline Rodders

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 6494
  • Bournemouth: Where even the water is 'ard!
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2002, 16:55 »
For what it's worth, I get a 'Page Not Found' for the first of Clive's links, but the second one works just fine.

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63424
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2002, 16:59 »
Thanks for trying Rodders.  I've been trying to access a lot of other Yahoo links as well but a lot of them are the same in that they don't appear to work.  I'm not sure why my system has chosen to single out Yahoo.   ;D
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline Barra

  • Established Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1211
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2002, 20:38 »
Page 1 is wide for me too.  Link 1 doesn't work, link 2 does. I'm on adsl through a usb modem, not a router
img]http://www.sandrataylor.dsl.pipex.com/pennyfarthing_button.gif[/img]I'm back!

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63424
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2002, 21:47 »
Solved!!  The problem was that the router has a built in firewall and I was also running Zone Alarm.  I shut Zone Alarm down and I can now access that website.   ;D  Why it just picked on certain websites I don't know.
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 67120
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2002, 21:52 »
Probably talking out of my hat here, but is Zone Alarm sensitive to cookies?
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Rodders

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 6494
  • Bournemouth: Where even the water is 'ard!
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #21 on: November 09, 2002, 22:00 »
I've found that ZA can sometimes err on the side of caution.  I recommend uninstalling and then reinstalling without saving your previous settings to put ZA's hat back on straight.  Your Router's FW may be sufficient on its own, without needing ZA anymore, of course.  I would seek expert opinion in that regard.


Adept

  • Guest
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2002, 22:04 »

Your Router's FW may be sufficient on its own, without needing ZA anymore, of course.  I would seek expert opinion in that regard.


grc.com said it was fully stealthed Rodders. I couldn't remember the addresses of the other checking sites at the time.

Could someone remind me?  ;D

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63424
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2002, 22:08 »
I've just run Shields Up with ZA disabled and I'm in full stealth mode.  Obviously the router's firewall is sufficient by itself so I'll remove ZA from my system altogether.
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 67120
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2002, 22:10 »
Another stealth test can be found at http://www.dslreports.com/tools
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Rodders

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 6494
  • Bournemouth: Where even the water is 'ard!
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #25 on: November 09, 2002, 22:11 »
GRC's LeakTest is the biggie, Adept, but just I'm wondering what I did with the other two bookmarks.  Wait.  Out.


Added:  Back again and Simon's got one of them, but I think I may have zapped the other one during a recent tidy-up.  I'm fairly sure it originally came via a link on Emeric Miszty's immensely valuable site, here.


(LeakTest link now fixed, *duh!*)

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63424
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #26 on: November 09, 2002, 22:26 »
DSL Reports came back with:

Conclusion: Healthy Setup! We could detect nothing interesting on any of the default ports on your IP address. Your computer appears to be a hard target. Well done!
ALL TCP
FILTERED No response (open or closed) to an open request was received.
ALL UDP
FILTERED No response (open or closed) to an open request was received.

However, it was a different story with GRC's leaktest.  It just barged through my firewall shouting "out of my way!"

Maybe I will have to keep ZA and just turn it off when I want to access that website.




Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63424
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #27 on: November 09, 2002, 22:34 »
ZA stops it dead in its tracks.   ;D  ;D  ;D
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Adept

  • Guest
Re:Cannot access websites
« Reply #28 on: November 09, 2002, 22:57 »
I'm not sure, but I think the Vigor Firewall is incoming rather than outgoing.

In that case it's best to run ZA as well just in case you get infected with a trojan.


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum