Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: I have no idea what's wrong.  (Read 7668 times)

Offline mistybear

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 7659
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2006, 12:47 »
OK I rebooted and I hit the delete key and it went to Bios, did that and it rebooted and I hit F8 after putting the CD in the drive and it came up Boot menu. I clicked on boot from hard disc WDC whatever and it did.
It loaded windows and I'm looking at my desktop.
Its saying that windows has recovered from a major fault or something and it wants to send an error report.
So should I unplug this (PB) from the internet and connect the 8383 or should I look for whats installed before hand.
Those who can make you believe absurdities,
can make you commit atrocities.

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2006, 17:30 »
As long as you have unticked the Automatically Restart box and have some AV program on then by all means connect to the internet and see how it goes  :)

Online Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 67489
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2006, 18:39 »
If F-Secure uninstalled AVG, and hasn't been installed properly itself, she may not have any AV protection, San.  :(  Also, if all of the Windows Updates have been lost, wouldn't she have to reinstall SP2?  :( :(
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #18 on: July 03, 2006, 00:12 »
Her version of XP will have SP2 already on as its only a couple of years old, I think.
The AV thing may still be a problem though.

Offline mistybear

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 7659
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #19 on: July 03, 2006, 02:28 »
AVG wasn't uninstalled, thankfully.
And spent an hour and a half downloading and installing all the updates.
Had to install WGA Notification though, it wouldn't let install all the rest automatically and after doing a couple at a time I installed it and the rest just flowed. :?  After spending the entire day on this I just wanted it done.

The only thing that was left of F-Security was the exe. file on the desktop so I deleted that and, (sorry Simon) FireFox went as well.
Those who can make you believe absurdities,
can make you commit atrocities.

Offline sam

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 19423
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #20 on: July 03, 2006, 02:35 »
well I hope you put FF back on later! :-) ... who knows what garbage got through IE. Then again if you are a cautious user who doesnt go to pages that teenages will go to, then you are probably as safe as Clive with his avant... (shame about those unwanted sheep popups eh?).. but then again he is as paranoid as someone who smokes canabis 5 times a day! :-)
- sam | @starrydude --



Offline mistybear

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 7659
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #21 on: July 03, 2006, 02:43 »
I forgot to say that when I rebooted it, the old problem returned, the fans were going full blast and nothing on the screen.
So we took the battery out and put it back 10 mins later and rebooted and went into Bios and reselected, rebooted and now everything ppears to be fine.
I think maybe it was headed towards this before it failed, maybe the F-Security was just a coincidence.
It was running hotter and was slowing down leading up to this. :?
Those who can make you believe absurdities,
can make you commit atrocities.

Offline gmax

  • Established Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 712
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #22 on: July 03, 2006, 02:48 »
:? if only people would partition their hard drive then clone c drive to the
partition, if anything does wrong, restore c drive , norton ghost is a good cloning program :wink:

Offline mistybear

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 7659
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #23 on: July 03, 2006, 02:50 »
Quote from: "sam"
well I hope you put FF back on later! :-) ... who knows what garbage got through IE. Then again if you are a cautious user who doesnt go to pages that teenages will go to, then you are probably as safe as Clive with his avant... (shame about those unwanted sheep popups eh?).. but then again he is as paranoid as someone who smokes canabis 5 times a day! :-)


I'll see how it goes Sam, I might try again if all runs well. But as they say " If it aint broke, don't fix it".

I might try a simple Firewall like Kerio, had it on the PB.

I'm not as paranoid as a pothead, but I am fairly cautious. :laugh:
Those who can make you believe absurdities,
can make you commit atrocities.

Offline mistybear

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 7659
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #24 on: July 03, 2006, 02:53 »
Quote from: "gmax"
:? if only people would partition their hard drive then clone c drive to the
partition, if anything does wrong, restore c drive , norton ghost is a good cloning program :wink:


If I knew how to do it I would. :?

It did, at one stage yesterday, ask to go back to a restore point but I didn't have any.
I was shown how to do that once, but unfortunately I've forgotten. :?
Those who can make you believe absurdities,
can make you commit atrocities.

Offline gmax

  • Established Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 712
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #25 on: July 03, 2006, 03:46 »
ok here's a guide, how to use"ghost" i prefer not using windows restore, it's
not all that reliable , http://ghost.radified.com/

Online Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 67489
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #26 on: July 03, 2006, 07:57 »
Well, I'm glad you're up and running again, Kate, but sorry you gave up with Firefox so soon.  I think the problems were partly due to a conflict of AV softwares, but there seem to be some hardware issues there as well.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline mistybear

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 7659
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #27 on: July 03, 2006, 08:05 »
Here's something curious I deleted the Hotfix Toolbar as it wasn't working properly anyway.
I then decided to throw caution to the wind and install FF again.
When I installed it and ticked it to be my default browser it came up with the Hotfix Toolbar.   :?  :shock:
Is this because I haven't restarted the computer after deleting the Toolbar?
Those who can make you believe absurdities,
can make you commit atrocities.

Offline sam

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 19423
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #28 on: July 03, 2006, 09:12 »
either that or it is some form of spyware

As for ghosting your disk, thats probably a little extreme. Though partitiioning your drives is advisable... keep all your sensitive data on a seperate partition. However, unless you have two physically seperate drives it isn't going to help you if you have a hardware fault!
- sam | @starrydude --



Offline mistybear

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 7659
I have no idea what's wrong.
« Reply #29 on: July 03, 2006, 09:25 »
If I have deleted FF and then later on install it again wouldn't that be a clean install. Later on as in the next day.
If so then why does it appear that this is the FF I deleted, as it has all my bookmarks and the Hotfix Toolbar attached.

So it seems that FF never left this computer, when I went to File Hippo to download it, it just revived it on here.
How do I now delete it as it has been deleted from Add/Remove Programs.


BTW the Hotfix Toolbar isn't attached to IE anymore.
Those who can make you believe absurdities,
can make you commit atrocities.


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum