Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Vista Compatability?  (Read 11545 times)

Offline Rik

  • Former Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 26508
  • Ceud mille failte
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2009, 17:17 »
With a bit of luck, MS will send me a free copy. :)
Slainthe!

Rik

Offline GillE

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 5020
  • Never totally serious
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2009, 20:15 »
For all its faults, Vista hasn't crashed on me once during the eighteen months or so I've been using it.  That's got to count for something!
There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.

(Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Offline David

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2348
  • http://Wormdive_2
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2009, 20:18 »
Touch wood its never happened to me so Im happy with it...no  I love Vista  ;)

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66013
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2009, 20:27 »
Well, I also have to admit, it came installed on my laptop, and I haven't bothered to change it.  I did have a problem with some Windows Updates early on, and it does seem very slow, compared to XP (Firefox takes at least 30 seconds to load), but I guess that could also be down to the laptop specs, as it wasn't a very expensive one.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline David

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2348
  • http://Wormdive_2
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2009, 20:32 »
Thats a surprise,well to me I find Vista a lot faster on this desktop and its fast on my laptop and my other machine which runs XP is slower in comparison to the other two  ;)

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66013
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2009, 20:47 »
It obviously runs OK on some machines.  I can't say it's impossible to work with, but given the choice, in hindsight, I would have preferred XP on the laptop.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 62214
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #21 on: February 19, 2009, 22:23 »
I"m using it right now on my son's machine and apart from it's quirkiness, seems to be liveable with.   :)
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline David

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2348
  • http://Wormdive_2
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #22 on: February 19, 2009, 22:57 »
Thats VISTA Clive is it  ;D ;D

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2009, 00:50 »
Vista has always worked fine for me.
Its time I wiped it and reinstalled as I have accumulated a lot of stuff on it thats no longer needed, since its been running the same installation since November 2007  :o:

If I get a day or two clear soon I may give windows 7 a try as I got that last month.

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 62214
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #24 on: February 20, 2009, 12:53 »
Thats VISTA Clive is it  ;D ;D

 :noclass:  ;D
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline jww41005

  • Regular Member
  • **
  • Posts: 200
Re: Vista Compatability?
« Reply #25 on: October 24, 2009, 18:21 »
GRRRRR!!!

My laptop came with home basic installed. I recently downloaded SP2 - must have been incredibly bored - now my 230GB HDD has been reduced to 170 GB.
OK, there's about 6GB of music and two or three films, but where has my free disc space gone? And I've removed the windows.old. file.

Anyway, I might consider windows 7 IF I can play my simulators on it. That should leave my HDD with about 1GB..................

Angry John >:(
If it works, don't fix it


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum