Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Please help - possible virus  (Read 11889 times)

Offline Simon

• Administrator
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: Please help - possible virus
« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2008, 23:24 »
I'm no expert on these, but it seems that these could be the entries we're concerned about, yes?

C:\WINDOWS\system32\jupous.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [fybo] C:\WINDOWS\system32\jupous.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [fybo] C:\WINDOWS\system32\jupous.exe

Did you do the analysis thing, and did it come back with anything?  Any idea what 'fybo' is?  Anything to do with Facebook, by any chance?  Trouble is, with nothing coming up on Google, it's difficult to know if the files are legit or not.  All I would say is, if they are genuine, they probably would have come up on Google.  It definitely looks like those [fybo] things are set to start with Windows.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Michelle

• Forum Fanatic
    • Techieminx
« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2008, 23:28 »
oh i dunno - but they are blocked at firewall - and facebook works

mcafee said that its part of houvoov.exe or wofyzarouz.exe, and nothing about those either lol

But it might be fine, i just wondered what they were.........and it did try to access the system again, but not since.
Out of all the things I've lost .......I miss my mind the most!!

Offline Simon

• Administrator
« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2008, 23:33 »
It does look like something's there that shouldn't be, but until we can find out what it is, we can't tell if it's harmful or not.  It could be one of those things that just installs itself with a random name, which is why it might not be appearing on Google.  If they are blocked by your firewall, I guess that should offer some protection, but if it were me, I'd be happier if they were out of the system altogether.  :(