PC Pals Forum

Technical Help & Discussion => Broadband, Networking, PC Security, Internet & ISPs => Topic started by: Whiskas on February 27, 2003, 17:24

Title: BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on February 27, 2003, 17:24
got my BB today. I was told the minimum requirements are windows 98, a usb port and pentium II. I have windows 98 the usb port and Cyrix 6x86 which is the same I'm told. When I have installed it  says that I need pentium II and 233mhz processor speed and I only have 224. Any ideas what I need to do and a rough cost?
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Rodders on February 27, 2003, 19:02
One door opens, and another one slams in your face, eh Whiskas?  I know you're not rich, but I'd seriously consider going the whole hog and buying a brand new system.  PC's as old as yours just aren't economically viable to upgrade now.

A fairly basic but fast one can be had quite cheaply here (http://www.novatech.co.uk).  You may have to live on beans on toast for little while! ;)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on February 27, 2003, 19:10
That seems a bargain if ever I saw one.
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Adept on February 27, 2003, 19:16
That's sooo unfair Whiskas :(

I'm not sure there is much you can do to upgrade your PC, you will need to replace most of it I'm afraid. It's as old as the hills in computer terms :( Unless you know of a source of second-hand parts, you will need to buy, at a minimum, new motherboard, processor, RAM and case. You should be able to salvage the hard drive, CD-ROM and floppy drive from your old PC.

An integrated motherboard should cost around 60, the processor about 30 for low end one, about 40 for a decent case and about 30-60 for memory. You'll also need to find someone to put it all together for you.

Around 200 should get you a half decent PC :)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Simon on February 27, 2003, 19:33
That's real tough luck Whiskas.  (https://www.pc-pals.com/smf/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.apax34.dsl.pipex.com%2Fsmileys%2Fs%2A%2Athappens.gif&hash=45bab61dce04ba9a22f95b1e46316ddd)

Linking to what Sean and Rodders have already said, a Motherboard Bundle (http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/Products.html?a2b1c0d0e0), again from Novatech, might be another option.  According to the sales pitch, these come ready made up and tested, so just need screwing into your case. This would enable you to keep your existing Hard Drive, but I have to say, if it were me, and the cost wasn't prohibitive, I'd be more inclined to go for a complete new package.

Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on February 27, 2003, 19:37
And you will still be able to use your old computer while you are comissioning your new one.
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Rodders on February 27, 2003, 20:56
I may be wrong, but I believe those upgrade bundles would require an ATX power supply.   :(

Does anyone have any obsolete bits taking up space, that they'd be willing to part with for a fair price as they'd be going to a good home?   :)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: bat69 on February 27, 2003, 21:15
Whiskas ... that makes two of us lol... I have had a nightmare trying to get connected to BB yesterday and today

As far as a pc goes ... I actually have a spare P2-233 lying around, but its not working, needs a little TLC, but I'm sure I can get it functioning again, if you can wait a little bit ... I don't know much about it other than the SCSI CD doesn't work .. I should be able to remove that and then it just needs a CD and HD

Let me know if you need it
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on February 28, 2003, 01:05
A local computer company said they could do it for about 200 with all the things Adept said but that it still wouldn't be suitable for BB. The company Rodders mentioned offer this

 Processor  AMD Athlon XP 1800+  
Processor Speed  1.533GHz  
Memory  256MB RAM  
Hard Drive  40GB ATA100 HDD  
AGP Graphics  Up to 64MB 128-Bit Shared  
Drive 1  CD-ROM Drive  
Drive 2  NA  
Modem  56K  
Sound  16-Bit 3D Onboard  
Floppy Drive  1.44MB 3.5"  
Case  Mini Tower Micro ATX  
Drive Bays  2 x 5.25", 1 x 3.5"  
Memory Slots  2 x DIMM  
Memory Capacity  512MB  
Keyboard & Mouse  PS2  
USB Ports  4 x USB 1.0 (2 Front, 2 Back)  
Firewire  No  
Networking Port  1 x 10/100 RJ45  
Serial Port  Yes  
Parallel Port  Yes  
Dimensions (mm)  185w x 361h x 421d  
Operating System  None  
Front Side Bus Speed  266MHz  
Warranty  12 Mths RTB  
Notes  NULL  
 
   
Dunno if it is Pentium II though
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Sandra on February 28, 2003, 02:10
Does the difference between 224 and 233 really matter?
I cant see how cpu speed affects whether you can connect or not  ???
What does it do when you try and install and use it Whiskas?

Edited to add : Its the equivalent of a P3 Whiskas,if you get that dont let Bat talk you into overclocking it as it will be like lighting compared to your current one as it is ;)

Which modem (make and model)is it? Who or what said your PC wasnt fast enough?
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on February 28, 2003, 07:27
That's what came up on the comp when I put the BB installation CD in. Has to be pentium II and 233mhz even though cyrix 6x86 is the equivalent of a pentium II
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: bat69 on February 28, 2003, 09:36
That spec looks fine Whiskas ... the only thing is .. it doesn't have the BB modem, which you will have to get. It has everything else, and is a fast machine

Now ... overclocking ... :heehee:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Simon on February 28, 2003, 12:16
Just as a general query, are there any pros / cons as far as internal / external BB modems are concerned?
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Sandra on February 28, 2003, 15:44
Pro Ext is that its easier to swap from PC to PC,has lights on usually so you can see if the link is ok.Also its easier to replace if its faulty and doesnt take up a PCI slot if you are on a short board.
Con Ext is that its more clutter on your desk or wherever it is,(mines ok as its hung on the wall out of the way).
The internal is the converse of these pro/cons.
Performance should be slightly better on an internal but I would have thought that it wouldnt be perceivable in reality,especially as the external could have more equipment inside that could speed things up a little :-*
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Tony on February 28, 2003, 16:40

That's what came up on the comp when I put the BB installation CD in. Has to be pentium II and 233mhz even though cyrix 6x86 is the equivalent of a pentium II


That will be the minimum spec reguired Whiskas, the one Rod highlighted will fly, The XP is AMDS current mainstream range chip, I'm running a XP2000+

The AMD 1.533GHz chip is as fast as an Intel 1.8GHz chip hence it is called a XP1800+

I know were you can get a W2K OS if you need one  ;)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on February 28, 2003, 18:42
Darn it, this is the only time I've ever wished Ilived in Wales ;D
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on February 28, 2003, 19:14
Oh come on Whiskas.  Nothing can be so bad that you would want to live in Wales.  I think I would kill myself if I had to live there.  :heehee:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Sandra on February 28, 2003, 19:28
I have looked to see what the minimum specs are for the Alcatel 330 ( I assume its that as its BTs standard one) and my Fujitsu but neither mention any CPU speed at all.
Have you tried asking around if there are adsl modems either internal or external that will work with your current PC?
I am just thinking of ways to save you some cash as you seem hapy enough with the speed of your present one  :-*
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on February 28, 2003, 19:35
The really annoying thing is that I had an Alcatel from BT when I had my BB installed and I gave it away to a neighbour when I bought my router.  I wish I had kept it now as Whiskas is a far more deserving case.  I feel very guilty Whiskas and I'm kicking myself over it now.
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Sandra on February 28, 2003, 19:40
Its ok Clive,we will do all the kicking of your butt that is required  ;)
She hasnt told us yet but I assume its the Alacatel 330 that she has anyway Clive so yours would have been the same one presumably  :-*
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Adept on February 28, 2003, 20:01
Is there any reason why Whiskas couldn't use an Ethernet ADSL modem like this one (http://www.redstore.com/fx/techinfo.php3?itm_code=dlifax005)?

All she would need is a network card which will definitely work with the PC she has now.



Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Sandra on February 28, 2003, 20:09
Looks like this PCI will work with her current PC.Unfortunately it is 50-61p and would need fiting Whiskas,if you cant do it yourself I am sure our resident NE PC expert could find time to pop round and fit it for you.
It would be cheaper than getting a new PC  :-*

http://prices.cclcomputers.co.uk/pricenav/retailframe.htm
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on February 28, 2003, 21:29
I have an external modem from Bt so that's ok . The main prob I think is the processor. or would the modem you have mentioned mean that I wouldn't need a new processor?
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Adept on February 28, 2003, 21:33
Yes Whiskas :)

Both mine and Sandra's solutions should work with your current PC 8)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on February 28, 2003, 21:41
Ok next daft question of the day. Can you explaint to me in thicko terms how this sorts my probs out and could I still go with BT?
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Adept on February 28, 2003, 21:49
:lol: Whiskas ;)

Basically you could replace your BT USB ADSL modem with Sandra's PCI card. This will allow you to use your BT ADSL connection. The PCI card does not need a PII processor to work correctly.

Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on February 28, 2003, 22:16
Yup I think I would need someone to fit that for me the next one up from the one Sandra suggested is an external one would that work too? I don't mind paying a little extra

D-Link DSL-100D ADSL Internal Modem (PCI)
ADSL PCI Modem Adapter with G.dmt, G.lite and G.hs support - NB WinXP requires driver download
 41.73 42.31 43.08 50.61


D-Link DSL-200 ADSL External Modem (USB)
ADSL USB Modem Adapter with G.dmt, G.lite and G.hs support
 46.67 47.31 48.17 56.60
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Sandra on March 01, 2003, 00:04
Whiskas I cant find any minimum requirements for the usb one from CCL or the D-Link site itself but I found this :

New Support Service:
For technical support for:

 
Broadband Modems/ Routers
Internet Gateway inc Wirless Gateway
ISDN Routers
Call Freephone:
0800 917 5063
Please call the above number ONLY for the
above listed products  

I sugest you give them a ring and check that it will work ok with your PC,(it may be as well to confirm that the PCI one will as well although it seems from the listed specifications that it should).

A PCI card is about the easiest thing to fit yourself in a PC but if you are unsure about it I am sure that Bat would happily fly over and install it for you  :-*
 
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Camstop on March 01, 2003, 10:20
Hi Whiskas..

Sorry to hear of your problems..but i wish i had them..... ;)

Just noticed this (http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/Specpage.html?NOV-ADMODR) with a router or this (http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/Specpage.html?NOV-ADMOD)without in the novatech monthly and may just be another similar choice to look at...
I would think they would be competitively priced though... ;)

you could call them on their local rate number to check if there compatible and hows and whys...
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: bat69 on March 01, 2003, 10:34


I am sure that Bat would happily fly over and install it for you  :-*
 


No problem  :)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Simon on March 01, 2003, 10:54
Batman to the rescue!!  :lol:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Camstop on March 01, 2003, 11:03
Whiskas...

If bat's going to help install and set up your adsl then best take his recommendations for hardware, so that he is confident at what he is attempting to set up... :)


And then when if it doesn't work..

YOU COULD GIVE HIS EAR A GOOD SLAP... ;) ;D ;D

 :pmsl:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Simon on March 01, 2003, 11:06
You could give him a good slap anyway - just for fun!!  (https://www.pc-pals.com/smf/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.apax34.dsl.pipex.com%2Fsmileys%2Fhehh.gif&hash=be865e5acef7dbe761df3e90576c1129)  :baad:  :pmsl:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on March 01, 2003, 13:50
I think he would enjoy it too much Simon ;)

I spoke to BT today who said that although I could use the PCI it wouldn't increase the speed it just uses my current cpu. I am going to find out on Monday how much I can increase the cpu as there is a local company who said if it is possible to do this it would be about the same price as the PCI
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Hitch on March 01, 2003, 14:58
A cyrix 233 is in reality a 166 overclocked to a 233, quite remarkable in a way but also useless.
cyrix chips very often lack a floating point which is need for decent adsl.

If you do get it working i congradualte you in the extreme but it will not work very well without the extra maths working... get a new pc.

Expensive.. yes.. but more than worth it. Never buy cyrix.
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Hitch on March 01, 2003, 15:19
May i ask who you have gone with for BB?

Sandy mentioned it may be BT, either openworld or plain no frills broadband?

If it is can you let me know please because you should have been told that cryix and there packages do not mix very well.. especialy with an old cryix that is the equvalant of a classic pentium not a PII... despite what i read on a forum that is supposed to be clever (not this one guys).

If its a BT package i can make sure with Openworld that it stops there and others dont get told same thing as its all Doncaster call centre, if its BT Broadband (which is crap and not worth the 3 saving) then i can still get word out.

Of course if its not BT then theres bugga all i can do :(
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on March 01, 2003, 16:00
I have bt openworld at the moment but I have just signed up for the no frills BT BB. The bloke that I spoke to at the computer shop today said he might be able it increase the cpu. I told him that the motherboard is GVCFR500 and is supposed to support KT6. He has some second hand and that he can try to go up to 550mhz but that I would need a new fan and and a packared bell psu
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Sandra on March 01, 2003, 16:12
Mines only a 450 AMD K6 CPU Whiskas and works fine so if he can do that your current modem should work fine with that  :-*
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on March 01, 2003, 16:50
What's the difference between BTOpenworld BB and BTBB Hitch?  I had assumed it was just a marketing difference.
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on March 01, 2003, 16:55
I think it is webspace and email Clive
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on March 01, 2003, 16:58
You mean you don't get e-mail with BTBB?
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on March 01, 2003, 17:21
Nope you have to use hotmail
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Hitch on March 01, 2003, 17:31
As whiskas says the main diff to the user is no email and no webspace, plus lack of content (not that will bother most).
The diff you dont see is the support, Openworld has far better than No Frills.
Its 3 less and just for pop3 this makes it worth it to most.

TBH, No frills are lying twats when they sell and seem to get away with mis-information all to often, I can speak first hand here and say the amount of work Openworld has to do, to make up for No frills lying is amazing.

There is more i could tell you but im afraid id get into trouble... trust me though, stay away from no frills unless you like crying in the end.
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on March 01, 2003, 17:50
Totally agree with you hitch they told me all I need was windows 98 and a usb port.
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on March 08, 2003, 14:24
Finally!!! all sorted. I'm now on BB  :go:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: greenking on March 08, 2003, 14:37
Now i'm really jealous.....:damn:

I WANT BROADBAND :aarrgh:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on March 08, 2003, 14:38
:welldone:  Whiskas!  A thousand congratulations.  Welcome to the elite.   ;D  Are you going to expand on that rather brutally short statement?  ;D
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Rodders on March 08, 2003, 14:39
Good to see your smiling face again, Whiskas.  I guessed you might have sent your box off to the computer mender man.  This BB stuff is brill, isn't it!   ;)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on March 08, 2003, 14:41
I went to a computer shop and they replaced my motherboard and processor ;D can't be more specific than that really, I dumped it on the table and said make it suitable for BB :lol: it was 50 so I thought that it would be fine in the short term and when I can I'll get a whole new system
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on March 08, 2003, 14:49
Phew!  That was assertive Whiskas!   ;D  If I had tried that with Adept he would have poked me in the eye with his biro.   :heehee:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Serenity on March 08, 2003, 14:56
Quote
[If I had tried that with Adept he would have poked me in the eye with his biro.   :heehee:


probably would have knocked you down to Lands end with the force too  ;D  8)


Welcome back Whiskers  :)... so thats all the girlies on Broadband now then  ;)  ;D
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Adept on March 08, 2003, 14:56

If I had tried that with Adept he would have poked me in the eye with his biro.   :heehee:


Nah, I'm a professional Clive ;) I have a special tool for eye-poking  :P :o ;D
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Clive on March 08, 2003, 15:05
Too much information Adept!   :heehee:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Lona on March 08, 2003, 16:02
Sorry Serenity, this girlie can't get BB and probably never will :'(

Glad you got your PC sorted Whiskas. Welcome back :)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: bat69 on March 08, 2003, 19:15
Brilliant news Whiskas ... I used BB at work, but it was when I got it here, that I realised just how fast it is. Well done ... have fun ... just don't blink  ;)

Kazaa Lite will be getting a pasting now  ;)
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Simon on March 08, 2003, 20:20
Congratulations Whiskas!  You can now join the Gloaters Club!   ;D ;D

Hope you have lots of fun with it, and it also sounds like you got a great deal on the upgrade!

:welldone:
Title: Re:BB Disaster
Post by: Whiskas on March 08, 2003, 20:40
yup they were very good Simon unfortunately they forgot to put 32mb ram back in ::) so I have to take it back