Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: 2 x 64K connections  (Read 3508 times)

Offline lodge

2 x 64K connections
« on: January 19, 2003, 14:55 »
Is it possible to set up 2 x 64K connections on one PC using two different ISPs?

When I try to make the second connection, I  get an error message saying that the Microsoft dialup adapter is in use.

Would appreciate any help/guidance anyone can give.

Thanks.

:)

Offline Rodders

• Forum Fanatic
  • Bournemouth: Where even the water is 'ard!
Re:2 x 64K connections
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2003, 15:12 »
:welcome:  Hiya Lodge, thanks for swinging by.  I'm not an expert on the arcane science of protocols, or the way that PCs handle Internet connections, but I would imagine that unless you're using something like Diamond's 'Shotgun' method of connecting two seperate 'phone lines to a shotgun-capable modem, you won't be able to do this.

One of of more tech-savvy members would be best placed to give you a definitive answer on this one, though.  Stick around and become unhinged like the rest of us.   ;D

Edit:  Link added.

Offline Clive

• Administrator
  • Won Quiz of the Year 2015,2016,2017, 2020, 2021
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2003, 15:20 »
Welcome to the forum Lodge.  Just to clarify, do you mean that you want to run your ISDN modem at 128K, i.e use both digital lines at the same time?  Or do you mean that you want to run two ISP's at the same time each at 64K?  I'm not certain how the latter could be achieved but Adept has ISDN so if there is a way he might have the answer.

Adept

« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2003, 15:23 »
Hi Lodge, Welcome to PC-Pals :)

I've heard that there is "connection-teaming" software available to do this. I'm not sure how it wouid work though :-

I'll do some research and see what I can come up with for you.

Adept

« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2003, 15:26 »
Good old Google ;)

A search on "ISDN connection teaming" came up with the goods straight away :)