Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: 42  (Read 5166 times)

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2005, 17:37 »
Well I now have one stick of 256 SDRAM and one of 512 DDR here and rather than bin them I may try them in another pc at some point as a friend told me that sometimes they wil work fine in one board and not in another even if they fail the test on that particular pc.
I cant see it myself but seeing as hes messed with pcs for decades and I am only in my 4th year then I will listen to his advice for now  :)

Offline HeddaLora

« Reply #16 on: April 28, 2005, 22:23 »
There was another book that came out after the original trilogy, which explained the "42". Pretty funny. I don't know whether the movie will be good, but the books are among the best ever written!

Speaking of oddball problems, I have a good one. This is back in the days of Word 97. I was programming 800 macros for a law firm in VBA at the time. Somebody there reported to me that a document which had a "checkbox" object in it would crash every time anybody right-clicked on the checkbox to change its property (i.e., from unchecked to checked, or checked to unchecked). It would totally crash Word. I was able to duplicate the problem and could not for the life of me figure it out. It was not documented anywhere on Microsoft's site. I spent several hours going through newsgroups, etc., and finally found a fix: Create a macro in normal.dot called "z", and the macro must be empty. That was it. That was the entire fix. And it completed fixed the problem. I always wondered how the fellow figured it out.

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2005, 22:53 »
It never fails to amaze me how people accidentally discover these fixes.
Having said though that there must be around 50 % of all scientific discoverys that were made accidentally or as a spin off from what they were researching initially  :)

Offline sam

• Administrator