Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Where to begin with programming?  (Read 3353 times)

Offline thegallery

Where to begin with programming?
« on: May 13, 2005, 16:54 »
Hi People.  

I?m looking for advice on what tools I need and what skills I should learn to complete a programming task. I suppose I could go a number of directions, but at this moment I don?t even know where to begin. I am an experienced web designer, but programming-wise, I?m an absolute beginner. I'm hoping you can suggest a road-map?

I want create a plug-in program for MS Outlook that would allow automation of certain tasks. The user could set preferences for a task they want to do, and an action they want to use to perform it. (say a button or hotkey). Then, when the plug-in is activated, they?d use their chosen hotkey or button to perform their tasks.

I apologize for not laying out my exact plans (I have some specific ideas in mind).

Perhaps what I?m after may not be beyond a couple of macros? However, I also want to package it. I?d like to produce this as a plug-in program, and even release it as shareware with a ?free trail? period, etc. like all the thousands of programs I see on Download.com and such.  

I also know by far the easiest way I can accomplish this whole project is to hire a programmer! But even if that is the case I still need to know what kind of programmer I and have a heads-up on everything that needs to be done.

Some potential questions:
Could I accomplish everything from just buying and learning Visual Basic 6?
Or could I accomplish everything from just the Visual Basic editor that comes with Outlook?
What are all the programming tools or languages would I have to learn?
What software would I need?