Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: How safe is internet banking??  (Read 1577 times)

Offline zephra

How safe is internet banking??
« on: July 26, 2005, 03:10 »

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2005, 03:46 »
As long as the address starts with HTTPS://  and you can see the yellow padlock symbol at the bottom right hand corner of the window then its supposed to be safe.
I have been using internet banking for the last 2 to 3 years and havent had a problem so far.
I do as much as possible including transferring to and from accounts, paying my visa and other bills and friends have transferred to my accounts and me to theirs through internet banking too.
I havent been into an actual bank for over 12 months now so for me its much better than trying to find somewhere to park the car and then queuing, why is the next queue always so much faster than the one that I pick to join  :roll:

Offline Simon

• Administrator
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2005, 09:11 »
I concur with Sandra.  I have been banking online with the Halifax for 2-3 years, and have never had a problem.  The only time I need to visit my bank in person, is to pay in a cheque (or cash).  The only thing I would suggest which could improve the Halifax online service, is to introduce the facility to make 'one-off' bank transfers, rather than having to set up a 'bill payment', which then remains on the system for a year.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline sam

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2005, 09:27 »
I've also been using internet banking for about the same period of times (with Barclays) and no problems here. I did, however have one problem with fraud, which we don't know how they got my card details but Barclays called me within 24hours to confirm what they thought was a dodgy transaction to a website - can't moan at that really.
- sam | @starrydude --