Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Finding IP for websites  (Read 2368 times)

Offline nodrog

• New Registration
Finding IP for websites
« on: May 13, 2003, 13:22 »
How can I find the IP address for websites which I have the domain name for, i.e. www.yahoo.com, using MS-DOS?

by the way, I'm new with a computer, so I don't know much

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
Re:Finding IP for websites
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2003, 13:41 »
Hi Nodrog,welcome to the forum  8)

This is what I think you wanted to know :

Open DOS Prompt and enter: 'ping [domain name]'
for example: 'c:> ping www.programmer.ms' will result in:

Pinging www.programmer.ms [216.32.192.6] with 32 bytes of data

Get back to us if it isnt  :-*

Offline thegallery

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2003, 17:04 »
Hi, Sandra, where do I find the Dos prompt in Windows XP? I haven't looked very much but when I went to expiriment with the "ping" I couldn't find it. I think it used to be under accessories in Win 98.

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2003, 17:21 »
Hi T.G.
Go to Start,All programs,Accessories and its about 7 or 8 down.Its called Command Prompt not DOS PROMPT as in 98 etc  :-*

Offline thegallery

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2003, 17:51 »