Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: New PC For Image Processing?  (Read 430 times)

Offline daveeb

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #15 on: February 14, 2019, 15:24 »
No. There's a recovery option to reinstall Windows without touching personal data.  I knew it would wipe programs, but it's still a pain to have to reinstall everything.  Unfortunately, all other avenues had failed, including system restore, and startup repair options. The worry is, I don't really know what happened, as the PC started up fine, then it rebooted while I wasn't looking and that's when the trouble started.  I'm assuming it was an update that went wrong.

Couldn't you put the drive in an external caddy to get your data off, then start again i.e. format the disc then load an up to date iso (i think you can get up to date ones from microshaft providing you have a licence...but I could be very wrong  :blush:). That way at least you should get a speedier system without all the accumulated junk.

Alternatively is there not a way to roll back updates (assuming that's the cause) ?

Offline GillE

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 5063
  • Never totally serious
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #16 on: February 14, 2019, 16:30 »
That's rotten, Simon - you have my sympathy.

I've looked at the PC Specialist website and found that I can't upgrade my CPU.  Before I splash out on a new pooter (the one that meets my requirements would probably cost in the region of 1.5K  :aarrgh:)  I might try reinstalling my OS and all my software to see if that speeds things up.  All I need to do is find a spare weekend...
There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.

(Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66190
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #17 on: February 14, 2019, 17:06 »
Couldn't you put the drive in an external caddy to get your data off, then start again i.e. format the disc then load an up to date iso (i think you can get up to date ones from microshaft providing you have a licence...but I could be very wrong  :blush:). That way at least you should get a speedier system without all the accumulated junk.

Alternatively is there not a way to roll back updates (assuming that's the cause) ?

I believe I now have a "clean" OS, Dave, with only the default programs installed so far.  The only data that was saved is stuff like music, pictures, downloads, etc, nothing to do with the actual OS.  With regards rolling back, I did try System Restore and also rolling back to the previous OS version, neither of which worked.  The computer couldn't even repair the startup process so whatever happened did a pretty good job of screwing it up. 

That's rotten, Simon - you have my sympathy.

I've looked at the PC Specialist website and found that I can't upgrade my CPU.  Before I splash out on a new pooter (the one that meets my requirements would probably cost in the region of 1.5K  :aarrgh:)  I might try reinstalling my OS and all my software to see if that speeds things up.  All I need to do is find a spare weekend...

Sorry to have hijacked your thread, Gill.  I still think, in your case, it might be worth looking at upgrading your current C drive to an SSD, if it isn't already.  That might be a cheapish stopgap until you really need to replace your current machine, which should really have given you more than two years service. 
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline daveeb

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #18 on: February 14, 2019, 17:41 »
It's a collectors item...a pc related thread on pcpals  :laugh:

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66190
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #19 on: February 14, 2019, 18:16 »
 ;D
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline GillE

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 5063
  • Never totally serious
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #20 on: February 14, 2019, 19:44 »
An SSD it is then  :thumb: .  I'm just so nervous about installing it - but at least you guys will be here to offer support.  :)
There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.

(Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66190
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #21 on: February 14, 2019, 20:03 »
One thing I would point out, Gill, is that my C drive contained Windows and programs only, which probably made the transition a little easier.  The fact that my data was safe on a separate drive was somewhat reassuring.

If your Windows installation isn't separate to your data, then I think it is still possible to migrate to an SSD, but it potentially may not be quite as straightforward as swapping one drive for the other.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline daveeb

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #22 on: February 14, 2019, 20:24 »
An SSD it is then  :thumb: .  I'm just so nervous about installing it - but at least you guys will be here to offer support:)

 :blush:
I didn't realise how bad it was Gill  ;D
I suspect the hardest bit will be opening it up, it all depends how deep in you have to go to get to the drive. I seem to remember that if the hard drive isn't recognised then you may have to turn off the windows 10 secure boot (uefi) and use the older legacy bios.
The pcspecialist bods (the actual company) may send you some info if you ring them...they do offer free lifetime support on all their pc's, i'd be inclined to take them up on it.

edit...i've been assuming all along it's a laptop, but if it's a desktop then the job will be a lot easier.

Offline GillE

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 5063
  • Never totally serious
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #23 on: February 14, 2019, 20:26 »
I've just ordered a Crucial CT500MX500SSD1 500 GB 2.5 Inch 7 mm M x 500 SATA Solid State Drive with 9.5 mm Adapter and mounting kit from Amazon.  Before I migrate to it I'll copy all my data to a backup external HDD.

My pooter is a desktop  :) .
There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.

(Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Offline daveeb

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #24 on: February 15, 2019, 10:36 »
I've just ordered a Crucial CT500MX500SSD1 500 GB 2.5 Inch 7 mm M x 500 SATA Solid State Drive with 9.5 mm Adapter and mounting kit from Amazon.  Before I migrate to it I'll copy all my data to a backup external HDD.

My pooter is a desktop  :) .

Good news, should be relatively easy to install.  :thumbs:

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66190
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #25 on: February 15, 2019, 11:46 »
That's the brand I used.  The instructions are very clear, and they provide you with the backup utility as well.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline GillE

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 5063
  • Never totally serious
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #26 on: March 13, 2019, 15:57 »
My SSD has just arrived and the online video says I need a SATA to USB cable to clone my HDD.  I don't have one of these.  Is there a way around using such a cable?
There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.

(Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66190
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #27 on: March 13, 2019, 17:01 »
Did they not supply one, Gill?  My SSD was a Crucial, and I'm pretty sure they gave me the cable, otherwise I don't know where else it would have come from.

If you're stuck, PM me your address and I'd be happy to send you mine.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66190
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #28 on: March 13, 2019, 17:09 »
Actually, apologies, I lied.  I've just check the order and I bought the cables separately:

Sabrent 3.5-Inch to x2 SSD / 2.5-Inch Internal Hard Drive Mounting Kit [SATA and Power Cables included] (BK-HDCC) https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B015MSJ1DG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_CJtICb72EC5DW

Sabrent USB 3.0 to SSD / 2.5-Inch SATA Hard Drive Adapter [Optimized For SSD, Support UASP SATA III] (EC-SSHD) https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B011M8YACM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_4JtICb7A3859P
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline GillE

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ******
  • Posts: 5063
  • Never totally serious
Re: New PC For Image Processing?
« Reply #29 on: March 13, 2019, 19:07 »
Ooooh, you tinker  ;) !  I have the same mounting kit as you, including the SATA and power cables - could I use those to connect the drives and clone without a USB to SATA cable?

(I'm expecting the answer to be, "No", otherwise you wouldn't have bought the USB to SATA cable.)
There is no opinion, however absurd, which men will not readily embrace as soon as they can be brought to the conviction that it is readily adopted.

(Schopenhauer, Die Kunst Recht zu Behalten)


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum