Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Attachment File??  (Read 3875 times)

Offline Shaz

• Established Member
Attachment File??
« on: July 16, 2003, 09:34 »
Hey Guys,I got an E-mail off a mate in australia with an attach on.The attach is 'ChatfrN.pps'when i try and open it a window comes up and tells me"This file does not have a program associated with it performing this action,create an association in my computer by clicking view then click folder options."Seeing as im a novice at the moment that dosent help me!! ive done wot it says but then come to a sticky stop!!!CAN ANYONE :help:ME!!!!!!!!!!
een away but back with a vengence!!!!

Offline chorleydave

• Forum Fanatic
Re:Attachment File??
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2003, 11:24 »
Oreet!

First, right-click the attachment  and choose "Scan with AVG" to check it for viruses.

I think it's a presentation file, which means you would need Microsoft Powerpoint to be loaded from the Office CD.  As your Hard Drive space is limited and you'll probably never use Powerpoint, it's hardly worth loading it for just one attachment.  

However, there is a small Powerpoint viewer, for those who don't have the full-blown program.  Go to:

http://microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=D1649C22-B51F-4910-93FC-4CF2832D3342&displaylang=en

and download the viewer.  Then you should be able to open the attachment.  If you've any probs, I'll call round and have a look later.

Edit:  You'll have to copy and paste the link into the Internet Explorer address bar.  (Why does this keep happening)?

Edit:  Link is working now.

Adept

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2003, 11:33 »
You need to wrap the address in URL tags Dave, to make it put the hyperlink over the whole address.

As in [ URL] http://microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=D1649C22-B51F-4910-93FC-4CF2832D3342&displaylang=en [ /URL]

just don't include the space after the [ :)

Offline chorleydave

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2003, 11:35 »
Thanks, Adept. :)