Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: eBaying question  (Read 2652 times)

Offline Simon

• Administrator
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
eBaying question
« on: November 15, 2003, 11:18 »
This could be one for an experienced eBayer - I'm currently bidding for an item, but it's my first time, so I'm not quite sure what I'm doing.  To buy the item in a store would have been about £200 (they don't make this model anymore), and currently the bidding stands at £41, with me as the highest bidder.  The item is 'as new'.  I have set a maximum bid of £75, so my bid will automatically be upped if outbid, up to the maximum amount.  Should the maximum amount be outbid, I will get an e-mail telling me.  How am I doing so far?

My question is this - the auction doesn't closes for another 3 days, so is there likely to be a sudden influx of bids at the last minute?  Also, how do I know is the seller has put a reserve on the item?  There nothing in the details to suggest this, but I have seen other items with "reserve met" next to the current bid.

I am also considering contacting the seller to make him a "buy here and now" offer, rather than waiting to the end of the auction.  Is this "the done thing", and is it generally a good idea, or should I wait?

Thanks for any help.   :)
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Robotochan

• Established Member
    • http://www.dollshouse91.fsnet.co.uk
Re:eBaying question
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2003, 11:37 »
From what I can remember if the item is bidded on in the last minute the auction gets continued for another hour or something. If your outbidded you will get an E-mail but E-mails from Ebay to me have been very sluggish recently, I got an E-mail 1 1/2 weeks after I bought an item saying the aution had ended and I won  ::)
b]Oxymoron: [/b]
2 words that when put together contradict one another

Example:
Microsoft Works

Offline Dack