Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Dial up connection box  (Read 1916 times)

Offline Whiskas

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3416
Dial up connection box
« on: February 06, 2003, 13:35 »
I normally use bt for the internet but I got freeserve a couple of weeks ago. For the past week or so as soon as I switch my PC on the dial up connection box comes up straight away before I have even put my password in. Is there are reason for this happening?

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2003, 13:46 »
Thats Freeserve for you Whiskas  ::)
Go to START,RUN then type in msconfig.This will bring a box up,make sure selective start up is selected then click on the STARTUP tab and look for DUN and untick it. You will have to restart your computer for it to take effect but you dont need to bother as the next time you reboot it should have gone until you want to make a conection  :)

Offline Whiskas

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3416
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2003, 14:06 »
I have had a look in there but I can't find anything with DUN

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 67481
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2003, 14:21 »
Whiskas, it's possible you may have been infected with some sort of spyware, which is trying to phone home.  Suggest you download and run Spybot, which will root out any nasties on your system.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2003, 14:22 »
I am out of touch with dial up,without seeing it in front of me I cant remember what it could be under if not just as DUN or dial up network or connection.Must be my age  ???
The only other way I can thing of is looking in the properties part of the dial up connection box and see if there is an option in there to stop it opening before you need it  :)

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63877
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2003, 14:49 »
No, it's just a default setting.  Go into Tools at the top of this page, internet options, connection, then click "never dial a connection".  The "always dial a connection" box is probably ticked.
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline Scrumpy-Jack

  • Regular Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2003, 15:12 »
Hi WHISKAS   ;D


I think you're problem is due to the .ins file that you got from FREESERVE which RESETS both you're IE and OE settings.

I guess that it has set you're OUTLOOK EXPRESS to its DEFAULT settings .

Look for  settings in TOOLS / OPTIONS something like :

AUTOMATICALLY CHECK FOR NEW MESSAGES AT START UP

 and / or

DIAL UP A CONNECTION AUTOMATICALY WHEN CHECKING FOR NEW MESSAGES .

The exact WORDING depends on which version of OE that you are using.

In addition also check the settings of IE as CLIVE has suggested.


Hope this is of some assistance.




Cheers  .




Scrumpy Jack.   :)
To do is to be." -- Socrates
"To be is to do." -- Sartre
"Do be do be do..." -- Sinatra

Adept

  • Guest
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2003, 18:15 »
You may find this Microsoft Knowledgebase article helps solve your problem Whiskas :)

Offline Whiskas

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3416
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2003, 19:24 »
Thanks everyone I'll give these a go and let you know what happens

Offline Lona

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 11979
Re:Dial up connection box
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2003, 22:56 »
I have Freeserve Whiskas and did not use their software. I suggest you remove their software and set up your own dun connection. There is instructions on their homepage on how to remove it. :)
http://dinah.www.idnet.com/chrisisaac.swf


If one took the Scots out of the world, it would fall apart
Dr. Louis B Wright, Washington DC, National Geographic (1964), from Donald MacDonald, Edinburgh :thumb:


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum