Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: BB Disaster  (Read 8739 times)

Offline Whiskas

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3416
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2003, 18:42 »
Darn it, this is the only time I've ever wished Ilived in Wales ;D

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63424
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #16 on: February 28, 2003, 19:14 »
Oh come on Whiskas.  Nothing can be so bad that you would want to live in Wales.  I think I would kill myself if I had to live there.  :heehee:
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2003, 19:28 »
I have looked to see what the minimum specs are for the Alcatel 330 ( I assume its that as its BTs standard one) and my Fujitsu but neither mention any CPU speed at all.
Have you tried asking around if there are adsl modems either internal or external that will work with your current PC?
I am just thinking of ways to save you some cash as you seem hapy enough with the speed of your present one  :-*

Offline Clive

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 63424
  • Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015,2016 and 2017
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #18 on: February 28, 2003, 19:35 »
The really annoying thing is that I had an Alcatel from BT when I had my BB installed and I gave it away to a neighbour when I bought my router.  I wish I had kept it now as Whiskas is a far more deserving case.  I feel very guilty Whiskas and I'm kicking myself over it now.
Winner BBC Quiz of the Year 2015, 2016 and yet again in 2017.

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #19 on: February 28, 2003, 19:40 »
Its ok Clive,we will do all the kicking of your butt that is required  ;)
She hasnt told us yet but I assume its the Alacatel 330 that she has anyway Clive so yours would have been the same one presumably  :-*

Adept

  • Guest
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #20 on: February 28, 2003, 20:01 »
Is there any reason why Whiskas couldn't use an Ethernet ADSL modem like this one?

All she would need is a network card which will definitely work with the PC she has now.




Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2003, 20:09 »
Looks like this PCI will work with her current PC.Unfortunately it is 50-61p and would need fiting Whiskas,if you cant do it yourself I am sure our resident NE PC expert could find time to pop round and fit it for you.
It would be cheaper than getting a new PC  :-*

http://prices.cclcomputers.co.uk/pricenav/retailframe.htm

Offline Whiskas

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3416
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #22 on: February 28, 2003, 21:29 »
I have an external modem from Bt so that's ok . The main prob I think is the processor. or would the modem you have mentioned mean that I wouldn't need a new processor?

Adept

  • Guest
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #23 on: February 28, 2003, 21:33 »
Yes Whiskas :)

Both mine and Sandra's solutions should work with your current PC 8)

Offline Whiskas

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3416
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2003, 21:41 »
Ok next daft question of the day. Can you explaint to me in thicko terms how this sorts my probs out and could I still go with BT?

Adept

  • Guest
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #25 on: February 28, 2003, 21:49 »
:lol: Whiskas ;)

Basically you could replace your BT USB ADSL modem with Sandra's PCI card. This will allow you to use your BT ADSL connection. The PCI card does not need a PII processor to work correctly.


Offline Whiskas

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3416
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #26 on: February 28, 2003, 22:16 »
Yup I think I would need someone to fit that for me the next one up from the one Sandra suggested is an external one would that work too? I don't mind paying a little extra

D-Link DSL-100D ADSL Internal Modem (PCI)
ADSL PCI Modem Adapter with G.dmt, G.lite and G.hs support - NB WinXP requires driver download
 41.73 42.31 43.08 50.61


D-Link DSL-200 ADSL External Modem (USB)
ADSL USB Modem Adapter with G.dmt, G.lite and G.hs support
 46.67 47.31 48.17 56.60

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #27 on: March 01, 2003, 00:04 »
Whiskas I cant find any minimum requirements for the usb one from CCL or the D-Link site itself but I found this :

New Support Service:
For technical support for:

 
Broadband Modems/ Routers
Internet Gateway inc Wirless Gateway
ISDN Routers
Call Freephone:
0800 917 5063
Please call the above number ONLY for the
above listed products  

I sugest you give them a ring and check that it will work ok with your PC,(it may be as well to confirm that the PCI one will as well although it seems from the listed specifications that it should).

A PCI card is about the easiest thing to fit yourself in a PC but if you are unsure about it I am sure that Bat would happily fly over and install it for you  :-*
 

Offline Camstop

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4658
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #28 on: March 01, 2003, 10:20 »
Hi Whiskas..

Sorry to hear of your problems..but i wish i had them..... ;)

Just noticed this with a router or thiswithout in the novatech monthly and may just be another similar choice to look at...
I would think they would be competitively priced though... ;)

you could call them on their local rate number to check if there compatible and hows and whys...

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:BB Disaster
« Reply #29 on: March 01, 2003, 10:34 »


I am sure that Bat would happily fly over and install it for you  :-*
 


No problem  :)
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum