Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: task manager  (Read 1747 times)

Offline Baz

  • Established Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 767
task manager
« on: August 28, 2007, 16:14 »
was looking at task manager lately and noticed that after I had closed all programs, had been closed for a few minutes, that in the Processes tab that an entry for Firefox was still there. Looking at it now while on here there are TWO entries for FF. ??? ??? whats that about.

Offline Rik

  • Former Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 26508
  • Ceud mille failte
Re: task manager
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2007, 16:22 »
Has FF crashed at all? What extensions do you run?
Slainthe!

Rik

Offline Baz

  • Established Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 767
Re: task manager
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2007, 16:28 »
no hasnt crashed. extensions running are

Adblock plus
British Dictionary
Fasterfox
FireFtp
Foxytunes
Foxytunes skin---Aqua bubbles
Mouse gestures
Tabmix plus

dint think I had that any running till you asked Rik  :)


Offline Rik

  • Former Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 26508
  • Ceud mille failte
Re: task manager
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2007, 16:37 »
Mmm. I only have one instance of FF on my machines. Do you have multiple user accounts? What shows after a re-boot, when you first start FF? What happens if you disable all extensions?

(Always with the questions already. :))
Slainthe!

Rik

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 67475
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: task manager
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2007, 16:45 »
More questions...

Which version of FF are you using?

Have you recently installed a newer version of FF over the top of an older version?  If so, try uninstalling and reinstall latest version.  You won't lose your settings and Bookmarks by doing so.

I think there was an issue with FF using a lot of memory when minimised, but I thought later versions had rectified that.  Nevertheless, it could be 'resting' in the memory, to enable a quick restart.

Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 67475
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re: task manager
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2007, 16:46 »
Oh, just looked your extensions again.  It's probably the Fasterfox extension that's sticking in the Processes, but I think that's what it's supposed to do.  :) 
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Baz

  • Established Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 767
Re: task manager
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2007, 17:01 »
right, just tried to disable them all and restart FF. got a message window saying for  a hidden process trying for a connection it was from the FF exe file. could be my firewall asking for it, Agnitum outpost Pro.
OK that and started up with only one showing in the processes tab.

just going thru each add on now to see if it shows two again.

Offline Rik

  • Former Admin
  • *****
  • Posts: 26508
  • Ceud mille failte
Re: task manager
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2007, 17:03 »
That's exactly what I would have suggested doing. :)
Slainthe!

Rik


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum