Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Setting up new BB installation  (Read 6430 times)

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Setting up new BB installation
« on: February 02, 2003, 22:43 »
As I'll be installing BB in the near future, but want to allow access to two PCs without one having to be on and acting as a server, can anyone provide advice on a good router?

What modem should I use with this and are there any restrictions on the lengths of cables?

Eventually I'll be installing a home network, and would like the router to be capable of working with this.

Also  ::) any advice on the best hub, etc for a home network would be gratefully received, and any recommendations on network cards

Thanks  :)
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Adept

  • Guest
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2003, 09:10 »
Sounds like you need an integrated router/ADSL modem/switch combo Bat. This will do everything for you from one box of tricks.

Some examples of good ones are:-

D-Link DI-804V
NetGear DG814
Vigor 2600

You'll have to look up the prices yourself ;)

I'm not sure of the maximum length of cable you can use, but I have an installation at work which uses a 13m cable without problems.

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2003, 20:48 »
Thanks Sean, those three look really good, mind I have to confess to not understanding half of what they are capable of, or what they mention.

They seem to address my needs.... now to find the price  ::)

Have you had any experience of these units or the makes?
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Adept

  • Guest
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2003, 20:54 »
Clive will tell you all about the Vigor, Bat ;)

I don't have direct experience of the DLink and Netgear ones I have listed, but I have used the previous models and found them to be very good.

Another good brand that I've used is SMC.

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2003, 22:58 »
The netgear one looks like a good one for beginners, but I did like the look of the vigor one. Is it easy to install? does it take much setting up, seems you've done it already Sean  ;)
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Adept

  • Guest
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2003, 23:05 »
They are all fairly easy to set up.

I think they all have some sort of program which sets the IP address for the router on your local network and then from then on you use your browser and fill in online forms to get the router talking to the Internet.

As long as you are familiar with your ISP's settings you should be OK.

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2003, 23:15 »
Thanks Sean ... just have to find out the best price now, and identify the best BB deal that doesn't come with modems etc

I think I may go for the Vigor one   seems to have a good spec

Thanks for your help :D


I'll probably be asking for your help again once I get one  ;)
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Adept

  • Guest
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2003, 12:52 »

Thanks Sean ... just have to find out the best price now, and identify the best BB deal that doesn't come with modems etc


Have a look at Demon. They are only charging 24.99 a month if you install before March 31st and are not charging an installation fee either.

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2003, 13:28 »
Thanks again, Sean  :D

Now to do a little ferreting around to see if they are any good.

That Vigor unit seems to be reasonably priced too ... I'm tempted  ;D
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Offline Sandra

  • Ultimate Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 12157
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2003, 13:52 »
Check out www.pipex.com Bat. They have an offer on at the moment for free activation and either a free adsl modem plus splitters for the normal 23-44 inc. vat per month price or if you already have your own modem its the same price but they give you 3 months for the price of two.
Personally I would go for the free complete setup as opposed to saving the extra month so you could get adsl as quickly as possible then take your time sorting the networking and router thing out.
I think if you asked either Simon or me we would both say that we have been very happy with our Pipex ADSL for the last 7 or 8 months.
On second thoughts DONT join Pipex as you seem to have jinxed every ISP you have had so far  ;D ;D ;D

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2003, 17:13 »


On second thoughts DONT join Pipex as you seem to have jinxed every ISP you have had so far  ;D ;D ;D



Gawd, how true is that ... AOL are even experiencing problems now ... I'm more convinced of this .... hee hee when shall I give you warning of impending doom  :heehee:

Thanks Sandra, will look into pipex ... I think most are doing deals at the moment due to BTs offer period, as all seem to have deals on until March
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66978
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2003, 17:54 »
:damn: Sandra, why did you have to tell him about Pipex!!   ;D ;D

No, apart from a very occasional amount of downtime, I would recommend Pipex, especially if they are running offers again.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Adept

  • Guest
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2003, 18:51 »
On second thoughts Bat, Demon are rubbish. I can never connect to then, they lose my email, they encourage spam and viruses across their network and the price I quoted you was wrong too just add a 0 to the end ;)  ;D ;D

(Sorry Demon, it's worth the bad publicity to not have Bat the ISP Destroyer join)

Offline bat69

  • Loyal Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1951
    • http://members.lycos.co.uk/dbat69/
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2003, 19:06 »
Oi  :butt:    :not:  I'm getting a complex now  :youch:  :aarrgh:  ;)

but seems you are so welcoming  :heehee: I might join both  :P :P ;D ;D
url=http://www.pc-pals.com/userpics/bat69bc.swf]Flash[/url]

Offline Simon

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 66978
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Re:Setting up new BB installation
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2003, 20:06 »
 :help:  Anyone know a good Broadband ISP?!!   ;D ;D
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:


Show unread posts since last visit.
Sponsor for PC Pals Forum